The Boy Who Flew and previews.

Boywhoflewpic

Cover by Ben Mantle

Athan Wilde dreams of flight. When his friend, Mr Chen, is murdered, Athan must rescue the flying machine they were building together and stop it falling into the wrong hands. But keeping the machine safe puts his family in terrible danger. What will Athan choose – flight or family? The Boy Who Flew is a thrilling, murderous tale set among the steep rooftops and slippery characters of Athan’s intricately imagined world. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Peter Bunzl and Philip Reeve.

For readers 9+ Published on 7th march 2019

The Boy Who Flew has been selected by the Reading Agency for the Summer Reading challenge 2019

Here are some reviews from early readers:

“I LOVED this book!”  author Catherine Johnson.

“An utterly brilliant story” author Gill Lewis.

Quirky, chilling and atmospheric, ‘The Boy Who Flew’ is a brand new offering from Fleur Hitchcock, author of the popular Murder in Midwinter. This is a gem of a story – with its roller-coaster adventure plot that will have readers gripped from start to finish and wide-eyed with curiosity to the very last page…This is highly recommendable to KS2 readers who enjoy stories with plenty of intrigue, thrilling plot lines and cleverly imagined worlds.  Ones to Watch 2019 by Books for Topics.

From Toppsta adult readers: “The Boy Who Flew is a hair raising, heart stopping thrill of a story…  Fleur Hitchcock creates an intriguing world of crowded, poor and secretive streets and high, open rooftops on which Athan dreams of freedom. There are fantastically written characters within the story – the villainous Colonel Blade is a sly, menacing and dark figure who reminded me of the very best of the worst Dickens`villians. There are some stand out scenes as the adventure unfolds and the final few chapters build into an emotional, frantic and and nerve shredding conclusion. A fantastic adventure that I thoroughly recommend.”

From Toppsta. Child readers: “I would definitely recommend this thrilling, adventurous and mysterious book to children from ages 9-14. It is the sort of book where you say to yourself, “I will only read 1 chapter” and end up reading 5”  “I really enjoyed this book trying to work out the mystery and who had murdered Mr Chen.  Athan is a really hardworking clever boy who is trying to do the right thing to help his family even though lots of things go wrong along the way.  I liked the way the book had lots of twists that kept you guessing to the end who was involved.”

More child readers: “With a host of quirky characters, from fiendish villains to unlikely heroes, this book has it all, including a plot of unexpected twists and turns that will enthrall readers.”  on K & O bonkers about books. 

From  Samantha Thomas  “This is a thoroughly enjoyable adventure story for 9 years+, and with Murder, Mystery, Friendship, Bravery, Heroism, Family, Trying to achieve your dreams and so much more, there is something to inspire us all.”

Available to pre-order from Waterstones

From Foyles

From Blackwells

And from a good bookshop near you.

Advertisements