Bringing books to life in cardboard and glue

Today I’ve been doing a different kind of author event.

Lesley, from Pageturners Project, invited me to come and talk about SHRUNK! at a “make a model Village event” run in conjunction with Wiltshire council, Wiltshire Libraries, and the very energetic  Calne Community .    She’d run a five week after school project about the book in the town, so she had some keen readers, who actually knew who I was.

After slides and chat from me, everyone got down to the sticky business of making tiny worlds.

Several families recreated Bywater-by-Sea

DSCF4384

DSCF4391

One family built an airport

DSCF4389

And one built a volcano. 

DSCF4385

It was fun.  I enjoyed it, the children enjoyed it.  I hope Lesley enjoyed it.  What made it particularly fun was actually realizing something from the imaginary world in 3d – and all in less than two hours.

I’m still wondering where that volcano came from.

Leave a Reply

